Is There Something You Want to Say, God?

There are times when it seems that God isn’t really subtle.  Oh, I have never seen handwriting on the wall (other than that time when our children wanted to do artwork!!)  I’ve never been struck blind on the road to Damascus, even though I did have that little bout with Neuromyelitis optica.  But still, there are times when God seems to go out of God’s way to speak a word.

It has happened over the past 24 hours.  I was driving to the office on Saturday to finish my sermon (OK, to start the sermon!) I was thinking about what I was going to do, how I was going to get it started, when my attention was caught by a song on the radio.  Apparently it has been out for a while, but I have been in Bali, so it was new to me.  I got to the office and quickly went to YouTube to see this thing that had come to pass.  Here is what I saw.  (Please ignore the ad.  I don’t know how to eliminate it!)

Then we came into worship this morning at 9:00.  We had put the service together several weeks ago.  I had typed the songs titles into the worship planning sheet–but to be honest I really didn’t look at the words.  I normally do, but this time I didn’t!  So imagine my wonder when I heard the congregation sing…

“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you.  And the waves they shall not overcome you.  Do not fear, for I have redeemed you, I have called you by name and you are mine…I am the Lord…Do not fear.”

The text today dealt with a woman who was afflicted by a spirit that crippled her.  I can’t help but wonder if the spirit that so often afflicts us…oh, lets be honest…afflicts me is the spirit of fear.

So God hits me across the head to say, “Do not fear…I want to see you be brave!”

1 Comment

Filed under Church, Life issues

One response to “Is There Something You Want to Say, God?

  1. Jim Somerville

    I literally felt the lump rise in my throat when I read the text after watching that video. Thanks for making the connections, Don. That’s what good preachers do!

Leave a Reply

