A Good Ironing Needed

It isn’t supposed to be like this.

white shirtYesterday as I prepared to go to the funeral of a dear friend’s mother, who died at 64 after a long battle with Alzheimer’s, I carefully packed my Land’s End No Iron shirt.   But of course, when I got ready to get dressed this morning I discovered that it was in need of a good ironing.  So I stand here trying to get the wrinkles out of the sleeves, the front, the back—listening to the news reports coming from the aftermath of the Boston Bombing.

It isn’t supposed to be like this.

Today is the day when people are swapping stories of how they overcame Heartbreak Hill, how they rejoiced over crossing the finish line, how they are nursing legs that are so sore.  We aren’t supposed to be nursing broken hearts, mourning over those who were stopped short of the finish line, mourning legs that are missing.

It isn’t supposed to be like this.

VTAs we sit getting ready to head to the funeral, my Virginia Tech alum wife is remembering the events that erupted on her campus several years ago.  Classes disrupted, lives cut short, innocence destroyed.  Since then there has been Aurora, Phoenix, Newtown, and so many others…

It isn’t supposed to be like this.

 

I find surprising calm in watching the steam take away the wrinkles in the sleeves.  There is something comforting in watching the front of my shirt recover its No Iron look, even with the help of an iron.

There are times when I wish God would just iron the world.

But I guess that is our job.

2 Comments

Filed under Life issues

2 responses to “A Good Ironing Needed

  1. Jerry Brooks

    All I can think of to say Don is a heartfelt AMEN! Thanks for being there when we try to understand these awful events.

  2. Mother.

    My dear son, How can you be so good at words. Yes, we all need a good ironing. Thanks, asking the Lord to IRON me..
    I love you, Mother

Leave a Reply

